A Debut Peculiar: Jennifer Thorpe sur son nouveau roman Les Peculiars, et ce qui inspire son écriture.

rq2kazm
En tant que participant de la première femme africaine atelier Writer, La passion de Thorpe pour l'écriture et la justice sociale a toujours été partie intégrante de son processus de création. Et tandis que sa créativité est loin d'être une surprise, la narration ludique des choses sérieuses est quelque chose qui parle à la fois la vie de l'auteur et le genre d'histoire disant qu'elle veut participer à. Son premier roman, Le Peculiars parle à la fois l'arrière-plan de l'auteur, et le genre de contes qu'elle a toujours voulu engager. Le récit des choses lourdes de façon cœur léger, est un art sur lui-même, and it’s an art that Jennifer Thorpe has managed briliantly.
La carrière de Jennifer comme un écrivain a toujours été associé à son besoin de voir le changement social, et de participer à sa réalisation. En parlant avec elle, il devient clair que la passion d'être un conteur a toujours été une partie de sa.
“I’ve always liked to write since I was a child… But then I studied politics and I wanted to do something a bit more academic.” She pursued her more academic passions in University and went on to work in several NGO’s including the Treatment Action Campaign and Rape Crisis Capetown trust. Les expériences de ce dernier servi d'inspiration pour The Peculiars.
«À certains égards, il était vraiment bon pour mon écriture, car il m'a fait très en colère beaucoup de temps; à cause de l'inaction de la part du gouvernement et de ce que je ressentais était l'action trop lente de la part des personnes et de la société civile ".
Le Peculiar cependant, ne traite pas de l'objet lourd, elle a été forcée de se livrer tout en travaillant pour la crise de viol Capetown confiance. L'idée d'un endroit pour les gens d'aller chercher de l'aide pour leurs problèmes mais vient de cette institution. Pour créer le Cap que Jennifer morceaux si brillamment ensemble dans le Peculiars, elle a pris l'inspiration de tout autour d'elle.
“Le premier caractère qui est venu à moi était Nazma qui avait peur de conduire ... Je l'habitude de prendre le train beaucoup, et sur le train, vous êtes obligé d'interagir avec différentes sortes de gens et je l'habitude de regarder les gens beaucoup et lentement le caractère commencé à émerger.”
Le livre se concentre sur trois personnages qui sont chacun aux prises avec leurs propres phobies et essais, et comment leurs vies se croisent comme ils essaient et surmonter leurs craintes. Chaque personnage a sa propre perspective unique, et leurs propres questions très concrètes pour faire face à travers le livre. Le sujet peut être sombre et le livre ne touche sur différents monde réel luttes telles que le manque de financement pour les organisations de la société civile (OSC) et les relations raciales au sein sud Afrique- mais le livre lui-même est pleine d'un humour grinçant qui apporte une légèreté à l'objet. Le tableau d'ensemble qu'elle peint est l'un des peuple sud-africain essayant d'obtenir avec les affaires de la vie malgré l'obscurité qui vient souvent avec elle.
Comme sa carrière d'écriture créative se déplace de force à la force, elle trouve la solidarité et la fraternité dans le Women Writers Groupe africain.
“Le groupe d'écrivains des femmes africaines est très actif, et nous sommes en contact permanent. Nous parlons de tout de la politique sur les questions individuelles qui se passe dans leur pays ... Nous avons fait très bien à l'établissement d'un réseau, nous pouvons compter sur et envoyer des histoires à. ”
Ce réseau lui fournit une plate-forme pour engager avec les femmes qui essaient de changer le récit des femmes africaines à travers les histoires qu'ils racontent, ainsi que de partager les opportunités qu'ils trouvent de poursuivre leur passion parmi eux.
En dépit de la récente publication de son premier roman, Jennifer est encore obligé d'écrire sur le monde qu'elle voit autour d'elle et a récemment terminé un second roman qui touche à la violence contre les femmes. Elle espère commencer une troisième d'ici la fin de l'année. Elle a récemment obtenu une place à la résidence du Vermont Centre Studio 2017.
dscn7669
Jennifer Thorpe, Première fois écrivain sud-africain. son roman, The Peculiars, is out now and is available on Amazon Kindle, comme un livre E. It was recently listed for the Etisalat Fiction Prize.

A Peculiar Debut: Jennifer Thorpe on her new Novel The Peculiars, and what Inspires her Writing.

 rq2kazm
As a participant of the very first African Women Writer’s workshop, Thorpe’s passion for writing and social justice has always been an integral part of her creative process. And whilst her creativity is far from a surprise, the playful story telling of serious things is something that speaks to both the life of the author and the kind of story telling she wants to partake in. Her debut novel, The Peculiars speaks to both the background of the author, and the kind of story telling she has always wished to engage. The telling of heavy things in a light hearted way, is an art onto itself, and it’s an art that Jennifer Thorpe  has managed briliantly.
Jennifer’s career as a writer has always been paired with her need to see social change, and to be involved in making it happen. When speaking with her it becomes clear that the passion to be a story teller was always a part of her.
“I’ve always liked to write since I was a child… But then I studied politics and I wanted to do something a bit more academic.” She pursued her more academic passions in University and went on to work in several NGO’s including the Treatment Action Campaign and Rape Crisis Capetown trust. The experiences of the latter served as inspiration for The Peculiars.
“In some ways it was really good for my writing because it made me very angry a lot of the time; because of the inaction on the part of government and what I felt was the too slow action on the part of people and civil society.”
The Peculiars however, doesn’t deal with the heavy subject matter she was forced to engage whilst working for the Rape Crisis Capetown trust. The idea of a place for people to go to seek help for their problems however comes from that institution. To create the Cape Town that Jennifer so brilliantly pieces together in The Peculiars, she took inspiration from everything around her.
“The first character that came to me was Nazma who was afraid of driving… I used to take the train a lot, and on the train you’re forced to interact with different sorts of people and I used to people watch a lot and slowly the character started to emerge.”
The book focuses on three characters who are each dealing with their own phobias and trials, and how their lives intersect as they try and overcome their fears. Each character has their own unique perspective, and their own very tangible issues to deal with through out the book. The subject matter can be dark and the book does touch on various real world struggles such as the lack of funding for Civil Society Organizations (CSOs) and race relations within south Africa— but the book itself is full of a wry humor that brings a lightness to the subject matter. The overall picture she paints is one of South African people trying to get on with the business of life despite the darkness that often comes with it.
As her creative writing career moves from strength to strength she finds solidarity and sisterhood in the African Women Writers Group.
“The African Women’s writers group is really active, and we’re in constant contact. We talk about everything from politics to the individual issues happening in their countries…We’ve done really well at establishing a network we can rely on and send stories to. ”
This network provides her a platform to engage with women who are trying to change the Narrative of African Women through the stories they tell as well as share any opportunities they find to pursue their passion amongst them.
Despite the recent release of her debut Novel, Jennifer is still compelled to write about the world she sees around her and has recently finished a second novel that touches on violence against women. She hopes to start a third by the end of the year. She was recently awarded a place at the Vermont Studio Centre residency for 2017.
dscn7669
Jennifer Thorpe, First time South African Writer. Her novel,  The Peculiars,  is out now and is available on Amazon Kindle, as an E book. It was recently listed for the Etisalat Fiction Prize.

AWDF ON TWITTER @awdf01