3rd African Grantmakers Network Assembly to be Held in Arusha, Tanzania July 1-3

30th June 2015




C:\Users\AMBALE\Documents\Foundation for Civil Society (FCS) Logo.png

Arusha To Host 3rd African Grantmakers Network Assembly July 1­-3, 2015

Activist and humanitarian Graça Machel, Nobel laureate, Leymah Gbowee and HRH Sylvia Nagginda of Buganda will be among keynote speakers and presenters at this year’s African Grantmakers Network (AGN) third General Assembly, which will take place in Arusha, Tanzania at the Arusha International Conference Centre, Arusha.

The meeting will be held from July 1-­3, 2015 under the theme: “Philanthropy in Africa 2015 ­ People, Policy and Practice.” It will be hosted by the African Women’s Development Fund and the Foundation for Civil Society (FCS).

The AGN conference will bring together philanthropists, grantmaking bodies and other sectors for a three day meeting during which they will share experiences and good practise in contributions to philanthropy in Africa. Attendees will discuss the contribution made by the wide range of critical constituencies such as women, youth and other marginalised groups, and tackle crucial issues such as the impact of governance on philanthropy.

Theo Sowa, current Chair of AGN said ‘this is one of the platforms AGN has created for renewed and vibrant conversations about philanthropy in Africa, and the AGN board is delighted that at this Assembly at least three new publications on African philanthropy will be launched.’

A major highlight of the Assembly will be the African Philanthropy awards, a recognition given by AGN to individuals and organisations that have contributed to development and philanthropy on the continent.

Founded in 2009, the African Grantmakers Network (AGN) is a continent­wide network of African grantmaking organisations that facilitates networking, learning and good practise amongst established and emerging African philanthropic institutions. The AGN promotes the voices of African philanthropy on the continent and globally.

AGN’s first steering committee members were the African Womens’ Development Fund (AWDF), Kenya Community Development Foundation (KCDF) ,TrustAfrica (TA),the Southern Africa Trust (SAT), the Foundation for Civil Society (FCS), and Akiba Uhaki Foundation (AUF). The current board members include the Nelson Mandela Children’s Fund and Community Development Foundation Western Cape in South Africa.

For more information and to see the full programme, visit: www.africangrantmakersnetwork.org

For media enquiries or request for interviews contact:

Joyce Ambale

[email protected]

+254 705 216 215


Amba Mpoke­Bigg

[email protected]

+255 682 327 082